So, now what?

I can build “hosted” AROS in both Linux (Debian) and MacOS X, and run the new build on in each respective platform.  I can also build AROS “native” and run it in a “bare” virtual machine.  I’m currently running “native” in a VirtualBox vm on my MacBook Pro, “MacOS X hosted” on my MacBook Pro, and “Linux hosted” in a Debian vm.  I’m currently running the Debian vm using VMWare Player on a Dell laptop.

I’ve put aside attempting to build or run AROS “hosted” under Windows.  I have cygwin installed, but I’m not sure I like it.  I don’t really want a *nix environment under Windows.  If I can be productive enough with either MacOS or Linux, I’d rather do any AROS related development using either of those platforms.

So I’ve taken a break from playing with AROS and I’ve been working to configure my MacBook and Debian environments to be useful (for me) on an ongoing basis.  I know how to do a few things in each, but I don’t know either platform anywhere close to as well as I know Windows.

I think Linux is an outstanding operating system, born out of inspiration and continually improved over the past 25+ years.  But I don’t have much experience with Linux.  It has been a small effort to get my Debian vm to the point that I can be productive and even enjoy using it.

I really like MacOS X, but I’m more of a casual Mac user than a power user.  If I’m going anything “serious” with my MacBook, I’m typically in Windows 7 running in Parallels.  After all, my MacBook Pro is the best Windows laptop that I’ve ever owned.  Between personal machines, work machines, and hand-me-downs, I’ve had more laptops than I can remember.

As user-friendly as MacOS and Mac applications are, they are a little too user-friendly at times.  Take for example the task of modifying “hidden system” files, such as the various “dot” Linux system files.  Before you can modify them, or even view their contents, you first have to figure out how to make them visible.  This is not a trivial task, although it seems that Apple listened to users struggling with that specific task.  So did they make the task more user-friendly?  I’ll let you be the judge.  Here is a quote from another blogger’s post:

With the Finder as the foremost application, press shift-command-H, command-2, and then command-J, which will bring up a window that configures Finder view options. Check the “Show Library Folder” and close the window. Thanks to the Apple engineers that made this process more user-friendly.

Configuring Mac OS X on Yosemite & Mavericks (Hacker Codex)

Shift-Command-H, followed by Command-2, then Command-J, which then brings up a configuration window.

Thanks Apple.  Actually, thanks Funter (a small app that truly makes it simple to show or hide MacOS X system files).

 

Author: Jon Robertson

Software developer, Commodore hacker, and a fortunate husband and father!

Leave a Reply

