What’s Next for my “Get AROS” Script?

I’m fairly happy with the script for now.  Although it does not do as much as the gimmearos script, I am much more familiar with my script.  🙂   And as I think of new stuff for the script to handle, I want the challenge of figuring it out and implementing it myself.

That said, I’ve already starting thinking of future improvements to my script as well as some tasks that may be better suited to their own script.

Local Deployment of New Build

The script currently does not copy the successful build to another location.  Sometimes I would want this, but I wouldn’t want it performed on every build.  For one, AROS may be launched from the target folder created during the build process.  So I can test and debug any changes before decided to deploy the build to more permanent home.  So I could add the “deploy build” as a decision for the user once the build is finished.  The script could prompt and allow the user to decide whether the new build should be deployed to a “final” location.  But for now it seems easier to copy it manually when I have a reason to.

Creating a Custom Distribution

I suspect I’ll also play around with creating a custom distribution.  I like the idea of creating custom distributions for specific needs.  For example, there could be AROS distributions for application development, productivity (mainly office and web applications), creating music, video editing, “modern” gaming, “retro” gaming, and who knows what else.  I’m not interested in creating distributions that are widely distributed or that I would maintain or support.  But I’m very interested in documenting the process as well as writing scripts or utilities to simplify and automate creating a distribution.  I see there being three primary “steps” involved:

  1. Getting current AROS source code and building AROS.
  2. Getting and building additional applications and libraries that should be pre-installed and configured based on the goal of the distribution.
  3. Copying AROS and the other applications and libraries to a new folder, which in the process will define the drawer and file layout of the AROS distribution.
  4. Creating a “Live” CD using this new AROS folder.  As with other “Live” CDs, AROS may be booted directly from the CD or may be installed to a hard drive.

I’ll probably include the steps for creating a bootable “Live” USB thumb drive as well, although those are less interesting to me.  I’m actually interested in creating complete distributions that come “pre-loaded” with everything you would want, based on the distribution chosen.  (Rather than having a single distribution that has everything installed in it.)

To Be Continued…

I may think of other improvements or tasks to script/automate as I hack around in AROS.  But these are the only two that I’ve thought of for now.  I wanted to go ahead and document them, both for my own benefit and hopefully to get feedback from other AROS hackers, or users even.  😉

Author: Jon Robertson

Software developer, Commodore hacker, and a fortunate husband and father!

Leave a Reply

