I’m finally taking the expert’s advice…

I finally made the time to do some coding in AROS.  I wrote a little Pascal and fought with fpc.  Then I looked at the Murks! IDE.  It was one I asked about on aros-exec and the current maintainer responded and said I should give it a try.  He also welcomed improvements.  While I have not looked at the Murks! source code yet, the app itself seems fairly simple, which makes it an awesome project for me to start hacking on.

Unfortunately, I’m not happy enough with Murks! to use it as-is.  I don’t understand how it handles the “current” folder versus “project” (or perhaps “development”) folders.  I want to have my projects under My WorkSpace (like a home or My Documents folder).  I don’t want my personal projects mixed in with the Development tools and libraries that I’ll be depending on.  Yet I couldn’t get Murks! to pass the correct path (is that correct in Amiga terms?) to gcc.  😦

I was able to compile my first project.  I didn’t write any code for the project, at least not yet.  I’m going to play with Text Elite, a text (shell) space trading game.  Everything is in one fairly small C source file.  But it’ll expose me to writing C code on AROS.  Once I’m familiar with the code I have, I’m going to convert it to Free Pascal.  And I’d like to enhance it some.  We’ll see.

But back to the point of this post.  My builds of Text Elite cause a Recoverable Alert when the process exits.  I posted a question on the dev forum at aros-exec and one of the AROS developers responded.  He also took the time to test the code under the latest ABIv1 64-bit build of AROS and couldn’t see any problems.

I fiddled with the code some, adding some more output.  But even with a four second reboot, the frequent crashes and the lack of a debugger is more of a challenge than I had accepted.  Several veteran AROS developers tried to tell me.  But I’m becoming a old dog in this industry, one that sometimes has to learn things the hard way.  😉

So now I’m downloading Ubuntu 14.04 so I can run AROS hosted.  I chose 14.04 because I believe it “shipped” with version 4.1 of the GNU compiler.  I read in a couple of places that is the version that I need to use on the Linux side.

I’ve found instructions for getting AROS hosted running.  That seems pretty easy.  The challenging part will be setting up cross-compilation.  Luckily, I already have five AROS developers that have given me either advice, step-by-step instructions, or have authored how-to wiki pages on cross-compiling.  So I’ve got all the resources I need, except the time that is.

Yay!  The Ubuntu ISO just now finished downloading…  off for more fun…

 

Author: Jon Robertson

Software developer, Commodore hacker, and a fortunate husband and father!

Leave a Reply

